Sunday, December 23, 2012

New e-book features Louise Brooks

Film historian and journalist Jordan R. Young has authored a just published ebook which includes Louise Brooks and features the silent film actress on its cover. The book is Academy Award Losers, 1912-1939: Great Performances in the Oscar Hall of Shame, Vol. 1 (Past Times Publishing Co. (December 21, 2012). 

The book's description reads in part, "How could Barbara Stanwyck, Judy Garland, Myrna Loy, Louise Brooks and other luminary actresses of the movies’ golden age fail to win a competitive Oscar? How could such legends as Buster Keaton, Cary Grant, Fred Astaire, or Peter Lorre never once achieve such honors? . . . Many of the movies’ best actors never won the ultimate recognition, the Academy Award, and many more were never even nominated. In an alternate and more equitable universe, things might have been different—especially for actors of color like Louise Beavers and Dorothy Dandridge. . . .  The Oscar Hall of Shame is crammed with iconic movie performances that failed to merit a nomination. This book attempts to offer some perspective, from the point of view of a show business historian and lifelong movie aficionado."

Louise Brooks pops up in the year 1929. Young awards Brooks that's year's "best actress" honor for her role in the G.W. Pabst film, Pandora's Box, which she shares with Anna May Wong for her role in Piccadilly. They beat out Nina Mae Kinney for her role in Hallelujah, and Corrine Griffith for her role in The Divine Lady.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts